Merging Cases in the Inbox and Location Screens - Appv5 Knowledge

What's in this article?

There are three ways to merge cases in the platform. The method you choose depends on the context of the merge:

When cases are merged, you select a primary case that retains all case details. Communications from the other cases are merged into this primary case, and the non-primary cases are deleted after the merge. A log entry is added to the activity timeline on the primary case indicating that cases were merged into it.

Method 1: From the Cases List

  1. Navigate to Inbox and select a case view.
  2. Click Expand View.
  3. Select more than one case using the bulk select checkboxes on the left side of the cases table.
  4. Select Bulk Actions > Merge Cases in the top right.
  5. Select the primary case to merge into. This is the case that will retain all case details; communications from the other cases will be merged into it.
  6. Click Next and then Merge.

Method 2: From Case History on a Case

If the location has fewer than five cases, use Method 3 below instead.

  1. Navigate to Inbox, open a case, then go to Customer Details and scroll down to the Cases block.
  2. Select View All.
  3. In the Cases drawer, click the Select button.
  4. Select the cases you want to merge.
  5. Click the Merge Cases button at the bottom.
  6. Confirm the primary case.
  7. Select Next and then Merge.

Method 3: From the Cases Tab on a Location

  1. Navigate to Customers and open the relevant location.
  2. In the Cases tab in the middle panel, click the Select button.
  3. Select the cases you want to merge.
  4. Click the Merge Cases button at the bottom.
  5. Confirm the primary case.
  6. Select Next and the Merge.