Resolving and Reopening Cases: Understanding Resolution Statuses - Appv5 Knowledge

What's in this article?

What It Means to Resolve a Case

Resolving a case indicates that the case is complete and no further work is expected on it. To resolve a case, click the Set to Resolved button in the top right of the case header toolbar.

What Happens After a Case Is Resolved

If there is no additional activity on a resolved case for two weeks, it will automatically move to a Closed status. Once a case is closed, its communication threads are archived and can no longer be used. A closed case can still be reopened, but with limited functionality.

Resolution Statuses

When setting a case to resolved, you are setting both the Status and the Resolution Status. The Status will be set to Resolved. You can optionally click the down arrow next to the Set to Resolved button to select a different Resolution Status. The available options are described below.

Resolution Status Description
Completed The default resolution status. Clicking Set to Resolved without selecting an alternative will set the case to Completed.
Unresolved The case is done, but the issue or topic of the case was not successfully completed.
Canceled The case was not worked but needs to be closed out. This is similar to deleting a case without losing the data.
Deleted The case is fully deleted and cannot be viewed again. Not all users have permission to delete cases.

Adding Resolution Notes and Sending a Survey

Once you click the button to resolve the case, you will see a modal to add the Resolution Notes and optionally send a survey.

The Resolution Notes are intended to capture the final outcome of the case for easy reference later.

If your organization has automated surveys enabled, you will be able to update the email addresses of where the survey is sent. If your organization doesn't have automated surveys enabled, you will be able to update the email addresses and also will see a 'Send Survey' button to manually send your survey to the customer for this case to collect feedback.

Reopening a Resolved or Closed Case

When a case is resolved or closed, a Reopen Case button appears where the Set to Resolved button was previously. Clicking it will reopen the case. If the case moves from Resolved back to Ready, it will function exactly as it did before.

Cases can also reopen automatically. If a case is resolved and the customer sends another email to the thread, the case will automatically be set back to Ready. Note that if a customer emails into a case that has already been closed, the system will clone the case instead of reopening it.