Overview of Case Statuses - Appv5 Knowledge

What's in this article?

Cases and Work Orders in CXME move through a series of statuses that reflect where they are in their lifecycle. Understanding these statuses helps users quickly assess what action, if any, is needed at a glance.

Case Statuses

Cases can be in any of the following statuses. Some transitions happen automatically based on system rules, while others are triggered by user actions.

Status Description
New Definition - The Case is new and ready for action.
Definition - A Case created without an Owner User will remain in New status until it is claimed or assigned to a user.
Ready Definition - The Case is ready for action from the owner team and user.
Details - Cases that have an Owner User assigned will be in Ready status. Unassigning a Case will not move it back to New status. This indicates the Case is ready for action.
Waiting Definition - The Case is waiting for an update from someone else. Not action needed. This is sometimes referred to as 'snooze' in some systems.
Details - A User can manually set a Case to Waiting by clicking the Set to Waiting button in the case header panel. Clicking the same button again will move the Case back to Ready status. If the User selected a wake time when setting the Case to Waiting, it will automatically return to Ready status at that time. A case in a Waiting status will also automatically move back to Ready when a new communication or update is received. Note: Cases that were in New status when set to Waiting will move to Ready status — not back to New — upon waking.
Resolved Definition - The Case has been completed.
Details - A Case moves to Resolved status when a User clicks the Set to Resolved button and selects Completed or Unresolved as the Resolution Status. Chat Cases are automatically resolved when the Customer clicks or taps End Chat. If a Customer sends a new message on a chat or email Case that is in Resolved status, the Case will move back to Ready status. The Case will remain in a Resolved Status for 2 weeks and then automatically moved to Closed.
Closed Definition - The Case has been completed and closed.
Details - Cases in Resolved status will automatically move to Closed after two weeks of inactivity. Any new messages received after a Case is Closed will create a new Case rather than reopening the case.
Canceled Definition - The case has been canceled. This is typically due to duplicates, errors, or mistakes.
Details - A Case moves to Canceled status when a User clicks the Set to Canceled in the case header. No surveys or automated communications will be sent to the Customer for Canceled Cases.

Help us improve. Was this article helpful?

Yes

No